Piece of My Mind / Slash Careers

May 6, 2009

pieceofmymind

Piece of My Mind has a little bit more of a personal angle – my musings, updates on my life, and in today’s case, thoughts on a book and the theories it presented to me, and how they relate to my life.

The aforementioned book is One Person, Multiple Careers by Marci Alboher. This is the first time I’ve heard of the “Slash Effect”, basically the premise is that one person can have multiple careers that all contribute equally to creating the life one desires.

After reading this book, I thought about what I would see being my primary career and what would be my “orbiter” career. Growing up, I always felt so limited when forced to choose one single career path. The people I most admire are the likes of Leonardo Da Vinci, people who are good at many things. I wanted to be an astronaut, a writer, an architect, a designer, and yes, a superhero.

The book itself isn’t amazing, but it did open my eyes to the idea that not only is the “slash effect” okay, but it will soon be readily embraced. Not only that, but it aids in creating a satisfying and fulfilling life.

The problem is, although I’ve narrowed my field of interest down to fashion, the fashion industry in itself has so many careers that interest me. Mainly this summer is a huge opportunity for me to explore what fields I want to get into, which you’ll get to see through this blog. My greatest hope for my grad collection is that it strongly connects to the part of the industry that I want to head towards, and will perhaps aid me in making that decision, and if that happens to change over my lifetime, I’m cool with it.

I love the excitement of not knowing what the future brings, and am anxious of the uncertainty that lies ahead. Right now, I guess I am a student/part-time photo assistant, but in less than one year, that will all change. I know that I do not lie with the majority of college students, who basically “freak out” at the thought of graduation – I am eager, because I know that opportunity is aplenty, and I can make and carve my own identity in this new world where people are defining their own lifestyles and careers. I love that feeling. Now, if only I could decide…this blog really is a way for me to connect with my own interests and to share them with others.

I highly recommend reading this book especially if you are the type of person who feels confined at the thought of doing one thing only, even if you are extremely passionate about it for the reason that you have more to offer doing other things as well. The book was a great way to solidify the idea that it is okay and beneficial for me to head down that way, and took away a lot of the unease I was feeling about heading into the real world.

I am extremely interested in people who are living the “slash effect”. I would imagine quite a few people in fashion do – I’d love to know more about them. I think I will investigate this – will require a follow-up post and some research. P.S. If you are reading this and are happily living two careers, I’d love to hear from you.

Leave a Reply

