Trend Forecasting

February 25, 2009

We had Promostyl come in for a forecasting seminar for Summer 2010. I would love to be a fashion forecaster – that is one of my far-reaching dream jobs. Renee Labbe was our speaker, and I decided to google her to see if I could dig up any information about her career path. No such luck. And then I found this article, an interview conducted by Toronto Fashion Incubator’s Carolyn.

There are less than 500 people in the world working in the trend forecasting industry. It would be so awesome to be one of them.

However, its not something that seems realistic for me to pursue. For me, I guess I’ll stick to using my amateur raw forecasting abilities to design my own stuff for now, and see where that takes me.

There is a lot of talk about the future, both generally and within the fashion industry. Today’s presentation reaffirmed this with their directions. Final Fashion made a great post the other day about what to do in the face of a recession, and one thing is that people need to be more creative, to take a step back, and re-evaluate. It’s a perfect time to develop skills and learn more. One of my instructors at school was speaking today about the need to brush up on our technological skills – mine are pretty good, I think, but months do go by when I don’t work on these skills at all. This summer is the perfect time to brush up and learn.

And that includes learning more about trend forecasting and the world while I’m at it.

One Response to “Trend Forecasting”

  1. Danielle Says:

    Thank you Annching!

    Verbal Croquis recently posted a podcast about trend forecasting – http://verbalcroquis.wordpress.com/2009/02/22/podcast-not-mine/


Leave a Reply

