Not a fashion designer

January 22, 2009

I’ve finding myself more and more fascinated with communicating fashion, helping great ideas succeed. The only class I’m taking this semester, Product Development, allowed me the insight that I could aspire towards becoming a product developer or a creative director, but not necessarily would I call myself a fashion designer. The term is overused, and therefore, has lost its meaning, and cheapened the meaning of design.

A lot of people, I feel, are makers of fashion, but not really designers. Design is the cross between art and engineering.

My favorite designer still remains Madeleine Vionnet, after I first did a project on her work back in second year. Design doesn’t have to be flashy and loud – Vionnet’s work proves that.

When someone takes previous ideas and merchandises it to look new for the purpose of SALES, that’s not a designer. The people I admire most are the ones who are a hybrid between designer and product developer.

I would love to be able to call myself a designer, but I don’t have the patience to engineer clothes sadly. The more I learn and the longer I’m in the fashion industry, the more in awe I am of well designed clothes, but the further I stray from wanting to create that myself.

Also, while I still remember, it amazes and saddens me how little most people in fashion seem to know about history, both of clothing and of the world in general. There are many things in the world that I look at and see a need for reform. Maybe this has something to do with my new mission – to communicate fashion, helping the great ideas rise about the stupid/mediocre ones. Whoever said there’s no such thing as a wrong answer never found the right one, and whoever said that all ideas have validity clearly have never witnessed a great one, or lack the imagination in seeing its potential. 😉

2 Responses to “Not a fashion designer”

  1. Danielle Says:

    Deja vu. I think I wrote this exact post, same title, over 2 years ago.

    I’d like to meet you sometime if you have time.

  2. annchingwang Says:

    Hi Danielle, thanks for the comment. I have read your blog from a while back, and did feel sometimes that what you wrote rung true for me. I think at the time that I read your entries I was also starting to form my opinions about fashion and design, and your blog helped with that.

    Coincidentally, I am planning on going to Toronto this summer, either moving there for a few months or taking a short trip to see the city. It would be so awesome to meet you!!


Leave a Reply

