My wardrobe buying habits

January 22, 2009

I don’t know if its because I’m getting older, if I’m transitioning between teenage-hood to my adult years, or if its the economy, but my buying habits have really changed in the last year.

I have a lot of clothes. Most of it is junk. I think as soon as I got my first job, and for the first time in my life, had disposable income, I spent it. Then I had no more of it, and I realized that I didn’t even like most of my clothes, which shouldn’t be the case, because I’d like to think that I have good taste (but don’t we all?). The quality isn’t there, I have too many ill fitting pieces (damn my aversion to change rooms), and I don’t have any good, quality clothes.

The only treasures in my wardrobe are:

  • My Talula Babaton black wool/cashmere coat because it is so classic
  • My pleated green skirt (no label) because it makes me feel so feminine, is super wearable and comfy, and I always get compliments on it
  • My cream cashmere scarf given to me as a birthday present because it is warm and soft and neutral
  • All my American Apparel tees and tanks because they are versatile
  • My black Vero Moda blazer because it works for work

Everything else is just…there. After a couple years, I noticed a pattern: classic clothes just work. As a student saving up for numerous things (moving out money, possible further education, travel), I just don’t really buy clothes anymore. And I shouldn’t. Sometimes I cheat (I do love fashion after all). But one of these days, I am going to do a total closet rehaul.

Oh wait, I think it also has a little to do with me being in fashion, and understanding how fashion is made to sell, so that everything looks good in all the ads and in the pictures, and on the mannequins, but in real life, not always the case. Now, when I look at clothes, I look more closely at the clothes, analyzing more in detail, whereas before I just bought because on a whim, “it looked nice.” Yup, that’s it.

Leave a Reply

